LibGuides: Career Research Guide: Employer Research

Why do Employer Research?

When you're considering an internship or a job, it's important to find out as much as you can about the potential employer. Employer research can help you determine whether a particular organization is a good fit for you, identify people to contact about opportunities, and help you make a good impression at interviews. Use these sources to find out:

size, structure, and financial information about the employer.
names of important executives and other staff
news coverage about the company or organization.

Company and Industry Directories

Mergent Online
This is a great "one stop shopping" site for publicly held companies. Note that many tabs have multiple sub-fields listed. Avoid the news tab, there are better news sources listed in this guide.

Glassdoor
Check out company reviews written by employees.

Business Insights
Detailed company and industry news and information from company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, periodicals, and more. Provided by NOVELNY.

NonProfit Organizations

GuideStar
Here at GuideStar we gather and disseminate information about every single IRS-registered nonprofit organization. We provide as much information as we can about each nonprofit's mission, legitimacy, impact, reputation, finances, programs, transparency, governance, and so much more. We do that so you can take the information and make the best decisions possible.
Charity Navigator
Founded in 2001, Charity Navigator has become the nation's largest and most-utilized evaluator of charities. In our quest to help donors, our team of professional analysts has examined tens of thousands of non-profit financial documents. We've used this knowledge to develop an unbiased, objective, numbers-based rating system to assess over 7,000 of America's best-known and some lesser known, but worthy, charities.
Idealist
Search organizations by keyword to find possible matches in the non-profit world.

Business News Sources

Newspaper Source Plus
Articles from U.S. and international newspapers and newswires.

Glassdoor
Check out company reviews written by employees.

Regional Business News
Includes full-text articles from 75 business journals, newspapers, and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Use for keeping up with regional business news, getting a sense for a community, and local business information.
ABI/Inform Complete
Contains full text scholarly journal articles as well as trade journals and industry newsletters, regional business news, magazines, and newspaper articles published worldwide (“Wall Street Journal” 1984-today).

Search national and hometown newspaper databases for recent news about companies or organizations that interest you.

Library Guides & Databases
Research Guides	Databases A-Z	Library Catalog	Ask a Librarian	Library Home Page	SUNY New Paltz