LibGuides: Chemistry: Getting Started

Quick Start!

Don't have much time? Try these resources.

1. Search the STL library catalog to find books, ebooks, and DVDs in the library.

2. Search McGraw-Hill Concise Encyclopedia of Chemistry for entries on key figures, theories, discoveries, advances, terms, and concepts.

3. Search ACS Journals for scholarly articles and book reviews.

4. If you find a key article, type the title on Google Scholar and click "cited by" to see who else is using that work.

5. Ask a Librarian! Contact Jen Rutner, the Chemistry Library Liaison for assistance with your research.

Email: rutnerj@newpaltz.edu
Phone: x3705

Concise Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology by Donald F. Othmer (Photographer); Raymond E. Kirk (Photographer)
Call Number: Reference Collection TP9 .K54 1985
ISBN: 0471869775
Publication Date: 1985-01-21
Dean's Handbook of Organic Chemistry by John A. Dean; George W. Gokel
Call Number: Reference Collection QD251.3 .G65 2004
ISBN: 0071375937
Publication Date: 2003-09-01
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry by James G. Speight; Norbert Adolph Lange; John A. Dean
Call Number: Reference Collection TP151 .H25
ISBN: 0071432205
Publication Date: 2005-01-10
McGraw-Hill Concise Encyclopedia of Chemistry by McGraw-Hill Education
Call Number: Reference Collection QD4 .M34 2004
ISBN: 0071439536
Publication Date: 2004-08-24
Oxford Dictionary of Chemistry by John Daintith (Editor)
Call Number: Reference Collection QD5 .D4985 2008
ISBN: 9780199204632
Publication Date: 2008-04-15
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Chemistry by Joseph J. Lagowski (Editor)
Call Number: Reference QD4 .M33 1997 v. 1
ISBN: 002897221X
Publication Date: 1997-09-01
Dictionary of Chemistry by D. W. A. Sharp
ISBN: 0140514457
Publication Date: 2003-10-28
Women in Chemistry and Physics by Louise S. Grinstein; Miriam H. Rafailovich; Rose K. Rose
ISBN: 0313273820
Publication Date: 1993-10-25
Scientific Style and Format by Council of Science Editors
ISBN: 9780226116495
Publication Date: 2014-05-07

PubChem This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
information on the biological activities of small molecules

NIST Chemistry WebBook
"Provides access to a variety of physical and chemical property data on well defined chemical species and reactions."

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text entries from encyclopedias and reference works for multidisciplinary and subject-specific research in areas such as social sciences, education, business, psychology, art, history, etc.

Wiley Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology
Wiley Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology is an authoritative work illuminating the crucial role of chemistry and chemical techniques in the life sciences, and is essential for academic researchers and advanced students looking for timely review-type information in this field.

ChemSynthesis
Freely available database of chemicals.
ChemIDplus
The ChemIDplus is a master chemical dictionary of over 367,000 substances cited in National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases, including all TOXNET databases. It is searchable by chemical name, Chemical Abstracts Service Registry Number, molecular formula, classification code, locator code, and structure.
WebElements Periodic Table