LibGuides: CMM354: Background

Reference Sources provide quick topical overviews

Quickly get up to speed on your topic with vetted reference sources: Reference sources generally provide:

E-Reference Databases

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text entries from encyclopedias and reference works for multidisciplinary and subject-specific research in areas such as social sciences, education, business, psychology, art, history, etc.

Sources for Measures and Scales

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Information about and reviews of standardized tests covering education, psychology, personality, and more. Access limited to 4 simultaneous users
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The American Psychological Association's PsycINFO database, with over 2,000,000 records, is the most comprehensive international database of psychology. It covers the academic research and practice literature in psychology from over 45 countries in more than 25 languages.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Journals covering all areas of communication and mass media studies.
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Journals in sociology and social work, plus coverage of anthropology, criminal justice, gender studies, and more. Also indexes books and conference papers.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
An online library of 180,000+ ebooks in a variety of subjects from academic, professional and trade publishers. Most of the e-books in Ebook Central are leased and may be removed from our subscription at the individual publisher's discretion. Future access to these ebooks is not guaranteed.