Skip to main content
Research Guides Databases A-Z Library Catalog Ask a Librarian Library Home Page SUNY New Paltz

Environmental Studies

Environmental Studies resources from the Sojourner Truth Library at SUNY New Paltz

STL Catalog

Use the STL Catalog  to find physical and electronic books, videos, journals, magazines and other materials owned by the Sojourner Truth Library. Search by author, title, subject, or keyword (All Fields).

*Helpful hint*  Scholarly books always have an extensive bibliography and/or rich footnotes. Seek out the references that are listed in these books. Not only will this save you time but in many cases,  you will be referred to other reliable sources. 

Curbside Book Pickup Request

To request an item:

  1. Using https://library.newpaltz.edu/, browse the catalog for materials you may be interested in.
  2. From the item record, log in to your library account by clicking on the blue bar above “Get It.” This will enable you to select your materials. (If you can’t access your account, please contact library@newpaltz.edu.)
  3. Click on the “Request Curbside Pickup” located underneath the “Get It” button.
  4. Click "Send Request" to finalize your request.
  5. You will receive an email once your request is completed. Please give us 48-72 hours for processing.  Once the item is pulled, you will receive an email with a link for you to schedule a time to pick up your items. Pick up times are by appointment only. 
  6. Please arrive at the main doors of the library (entry to café) with a copy of your email confirmation (a screen shot will work fine). Upon arrival, contact 845-257-3714 to notify staff of your arrival. A staff member will wheel a book cart with your materials to the entrance. You may wish to bring a bag to carry your items. 

Please note: Items you select for pick up will be checked out to you once the item is pulled from the collection. Items requested that are not picked up within 7 business days of scheduled pick up will result in the hold being canceled and the item being returned to the collection. 

While we may not be in the building, Reference Librarians are still available to assist you remotely using Ask a Librarian. Librarians can also be reached at askref@newpaltz.libanswers.com

FAQs

  • Who can make requests? On-campus community can make requests until further notice. This includes faculty, staff, and students. 
  • What kind of materials can I request? During this preliminary phase, items that can be checked out will be limited to materials currently in the library’s physical collection (books, media, zines). 
  • When can I pick up my materials? To maintain safety of staff and public, we will be using an appointment system for pick up of materials. 
  • What if I can’t pick up my materials in the times offered? While in the early stages of this program, we will not be able to accommodate pick up outside of the times currently being offered. 

Call Numbers

The Sojourner Truth Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System for the call numbers it assigns to most of the items in its collections.

Here is a general listing of  call number areas for Environmental Studies:

Accessing E-Books

Please go to the library website directly or hit the "library" tab within my.newpaltz.edu

 

Finding E-books using the Catalog 

  1. Start on the Library homepage: https://library.newpaltz.edu/
  2. Select the "Catalog" tab on the homepage and search for a book by title, author, keyword, subject, ISBN or call number. Hit the orange magnifying glass on the right hand side to search. 
  3. Once on the search page, use the refiners on the left hand side to select "Full text Available Online" in Availability and select "Books" in Resource Type. Hit "Apply Filters" at the bottom of the Refiners list. 
  4. The results page will now show E-books for your search terms. Browse the search results page and click on the title of an interested E-book. 
  5. On the description page for the book, scroll to the "View Full Text" for a link to the E-book. 

Go directly to an e-book database

Checkout these new(er) Environmental items

Can't find a book in our library?