LibGuides: French Cinema: Home

Reference Tools

Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Find biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers, from all time periods and from around the world.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text entries from encyclopedias and reference works for multidisciplinary and subject-specific research in areas such as social sciences, education, business, psychology, art, history, etc.
Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of encyclopedias, covering the social sciences and humanities. Formerly known as Sage Reference Online.

Use any and all to locate reviews by professional reviewers, fans, film critics and media scholars.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Modern Language Association's database of journal articles, books, and more, pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.
Nexis Uni (Formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
This database replaces LexisNexis Academic. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and sciences, starting with the first issues.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and sciences, starting with the first issues.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Modern Language Association's database of journal articles, books, and more, pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Journals covering all areas of communication and mass media studies.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains journal, magazine, and newspaper articles covering all subject areas.

FILMS

Auguste & Louis Lumière, selected films, 1895-1896.

Alice Guy, selected films, 1896-1907.

Georges Méliès, Voyage dans la lune (A Trip to the Moon), 1902.

Max Linder, selected films, 1907-1912.

Germaine Dulac, La Souriante Madame Beudet (The Smiling Madame Beudet) 1922.

Fernand Léger, Ballet mécanique (The Mechanical Ballet), 1924.

René Clair, Entr’acte (The Intermission), 1924.

Marcel Duchamp, Anemic cinéma (Anemic Cinema), 1926.

Luis Buñuel, Un chien andalou (An Andalusian Dog), 1929.

Jean Renoir, La Règle du jeu (Rules of the Game), 1939.

Jean Cocteau, La Belle et la Bête (Beauty and the Beast), 1946.

Henri-Georges Clouzot, Les Diaboliques (Diabolique), 1955.

Robert Bresson, Un Condamné à mort s’est échappé (A Man Escaped), 1956.

François Truffaut, Les Quatre Cents Coups (The 400 Blows), 1959.

Jean-Luc Godard, A bout de souffle (Breathless), 1960.

Agnès Varda, Cléo de 5 à 7 (Cleo From 5 To 7), 1962.

Jacques Deray, La Piscine (The Swimming Pool), 1969.

Eric Rohmer, Ma nuit chez Maud (My Night at Maud’s), 1969.

Erick Zonca, La vie rêvée des anges (The Dreamlife of Angels), 1998.

Céline Sciamma, Tomboy (Tomboy), 2012.