Open Access

Search Open Access resources by journal or use advance search function to browse by subject. Pulls from multiple data sources, including DOAJ and PubMed

Search Open Access patents and scholarly work. Lens collaborates with major open access scholarly and open data initiatives.

SpringerOpen journals are made freely and permanently available online immediately upon publication. They are subject to high-level peer review, author, and production services ensuring quality and reliability of work.

Peer reviewed and open access collection of journals. Covers several academic disciplines.

Search full text graduate theses and dissertations.

"Project MUSE offers open access (OA) books and journals from several distinguished university presses and scholarly societies."

From Cornell University, an open access collection of works in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics

Biological research journals from developing countries.

full text, open access, peer-reviewed, biomedical journals

"ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 67 million structures from hundreds of data sources."

Search Open Access journals published by Elsevier. Majority of journals are in the science fields but there are a few journals in the arts and humanities.

PLoS publishes several open access, peer-reviewed journals covering an array of disciplines in the sciences including PLOS Biology, PLOS One, and PLOS Pathogens.

Offers access to a growing platform of high-quality, peer-reviewed journals, monographs, and conference proceedings in the field of theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics. Open access articles available and represent a large percentage of the site's content. Some content is subscription based or pay per view.

PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Hundreds of free journals from Elsevier's ScienceDirect platform.

Sponsoring Consortium for Open Access Publishing in Particle Physics (SCOAP3) has converted key journals in the field of High-Energy Physics to Open Access and continues to support OA publishing in these journals at no cost for authors.

Taylor & Francis and Routledge currently publish a number of open access journals.

Wiley's fully open access journals are immediately freely available to read, download, and share.

An "international, scholar-led open access publishing collective whose mission is to make leading works of contemporary critical thought available worldwide."

An initiative to establish a non-profit open access publisher for the humanities and social sciences.

"The Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) for no charge on its website. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007."

Search 60 national and research libraries of Europe including the British Library, the Bibliotheque Nationale Francaise, Deutsche Bibliotek and many others.

"Curated by a community of music scholars, students, teachers and librarians, the Open Music Library brings together peer-reviewed journal articles, books and music scores from the world’s digital collections."

Search Greek and Roman literature (in English and original language). Hosted by Tufts University.

Thousands of academic, peer-reviewed books from over 90 publishers.

Provides access to classic texts as well as contemporary reference works,

Search about 200 open access books primarily focusing on Asian Studies.

A program of the American Historical Association and Columbia University Press for publishing open access monographs.

Click "advanced search" to search by format (book, serial, audio, etc.) Be sure to select "full view only" to find open access resources. HathiTrust began in 2008 as a collaboration of universities to establish a repository to archive and share their digitized collections.

Full text of thousands of prose and poetic works. Created by the University of Michigan.

Search historical and contemporary books, films and more archived on the Internet archive

A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

Offering of books in a wide range of areas within science, technology, and medicine (STM).

Sponsoring Consortium for Open Access Publishing in Particle Physics (SCOAP³) has officially launched a new initiative to make books in particle physics and related domains fully open access, under the SCOAP³ for Books program.