LibGuides: Photography and Related Media: Find Articles

How do I find articles on the Library website?

Covers how to search for articles using Search Our Library, using the Advanced Search option to refine a search, as well as left menu bar options to limit to a particular resource type.

Learn how to use quotes when searching for a person, and how to limit to just article results when using the "Search Our Libraries" tab.

Get started with Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
This website, which is freely available online, provides extensive encyclopedia entries on theoretical concepts. Not only do these entries describe systems of analysis, they also refer to books and related resources that have been significant to the development of each theory.

Try combining a concept with "art" to find relevant entries, for example

Feminism Art

Or search the name of a person: "Laura Mulvey"

How do I browse online versions of a specific magazine or journal?

Whether in the Library or remote, you can browse art journals and magazines:

On the library website, go to the Databases tab.
Choose the option to "Search Periodicals by Title" and search for the name of a magazine or journal you're hoping to browse
Choose the entry for that journal or magazine that says "available online" in green.
Within the record for that journal or magazine choose the database coverage that is either most current (it will say that the coverage is "to present" or covers the range of years you are most interested in browsing.
Once you have clicked into that database access you should be able to select a year and volume / issue to view the articles.

Browse Photography Journals

Photography Magazines & Journals
Browse magazines and journals held by the library. Some are in print hard copy only, others have online access

Databases for Photography Research

Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting and full-text coverage of academic journals, magazines, and trade publications, as well as books. The database also provides an Image Collection of over 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and sciences, starting with the first issues.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Articles from U.S. and international newspapers and newswires.

Advanced Search Strategies

Use quotes around a phrase to find words together in sequence. For example:

"Climate change"

"Voter suppression"

Use truncation (an asterisk) and wildcards (usually a question mark or exclamation point).

child* and education
globali?ation and analysis

Child* brings up child, children, childhood, and any other word that starts with the root "child." This works in most of the databases.
Globali?ation brings up items with the words globalization or globalisation.
If you don't use truncation and wildcards, some databases will look for an exact match to the words you type, and you may miss some relevant materials. (Warning: If you shorten the root word too much, you will bring up irrelevant items (soc* will bring up society and social and socioeconomic, but also Socrates).

To limit a google search to certain domains, enter your search as follows:

"climate change" site:.gov

"police violence" site:.org

Some material above adapted from Northeastern Library's top ten search tips.

Library Guides & Databases
Research Guides	Databases A-Z	Library Catalog	Ask a Librarian	Library Home Page	SUNY New Paltz