Skip to main content
Research Guides Databases A-Z Library Catalog Ask a Librarian Library Home Page SUNY New Paltz

Printmaking

COVID-19 and Distance Learning

I understand that this is a stressful time and I want you to know the library is here to support you during distance learning. Whether you are on or off-campus you will be able to access library resources. Please see below for instruction and support. If you have additional questions or need support, please contact us using our Ask a Librarian page. Asian Studies faculty/staff and students may email me directly at ogradyc@newpaltz.edu. 

One of the barriers to distance learning is lack of internet access. Spectrum and Comcast are offering 60 day low-cost or free internet access. See information below:

Accessing Articles

Please go to the library website directly or hit the "library" tab within my.newpaltz.edu

 

Finding articles using Search Our Library

  1. Start on the Library homepage: https://library.newpaltz.edu/
  2. Select the "Search Our Library" tab on the homepage which searches most of our databases, videos and physical/electronic books. Search for an article by title, author, keyword, or subject. Hit the orange magnifying glass on the right hand side to search. 
  3. Once on the search page, use the refiners on the left hand side to select "Full text Available Online" in Availability and select "Articles" in Resource Type. Apply other filters depending on what type of source you would like to find. Hit "Apply Filters" at the bottom of the Refiners list. 
  4. The results page will now show electronic articles for your search terms. Browse the search results page and click on the title of an interested article.
  5. On the description page for the article, scroll to the "View Full Text" for databases links to the article full text.

 

Finding articles using databases

  1. Start on the Library homepage: https://library.newpaltz.edu/
  2. Select the "Databases" tab on the homepage. View databases by subject using the left drop down menu or view databases in alphabetical order using the right drop down menu. 
  3. Once in a database, use the search bars to add your keywords and use the refiners/limiters to specify what type of information you are looking for. 
  4. Browse the results page and click on the titles of interested articles to see the article's abstract.
  5. On the description page for the article, locate the PDF or HTML button (usually on the left or at the top). You may also notice a "Find it @ New Paltz" button for articles that don't have PDF/HTML attached. Click the "Find it @ New Paltz" button to see if the article is in one of our other databases. We have about 140 databases so it might be in a different database than you are searching. 

Need more help searching databases? See our Database Searching guide for more information about selecting a database, search strategies and step-by-step database searching instructions.

Accessing E-Books

Please go to the library website directly or hit the "library" tab within my.newpaltz.edu

 

Finding E-books using the Catalog 

  1. Start on the Library homepage: https://library.newpaltz.edu/
  2. Select the "Catalog" tab on the homepage and search for a book by title, author, keyword, subject, ISBN or call number. Hit the orange magnifying glass on the right hand side to search. 
  3. Once on the search page, use the refiners on the left hand side to select "Full text Available Online" in Availability and select "Books" in Resource Type. Hit "Apply Filters" at the bottom of the Refiners list. 
  4. The results page will now show E-books for your search terms. Browse the search results page and click on the title of an interested E-book. 
  5. On the description page for the book, scroll to the "View Full Text" for a link to the E-book. 

Go directly to an e-book database

Streaming Video Collections

Embed a Video from Films on Demand into Blackboard

To embed a streaming video from Films on Demand into Blackboard, you need the video's embed code.

To find the embed code for a Films on Demand title, simply locate the desired video and click on "Share." 

Then click on "Embed/Link." The embed code will appear under the video player, as well as the permanent URL.