World History

Maintained by Rutgers University, this site contains links to history associations and directories;general and subject-specific historical collections; historical documents, treaties, maps, statistics and bibliographies;and electronic texts by historic period.

From Cornell University Libraries, this is a good starting point to resources on the ancient Middle East.

A collection of primary sources pertaining to the development and use of the atomic bomb.

a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

This site has a number of links to resources about this time period, divided into British History, American History, and European History.

Published by the European Studies Bibliographer at Brigham Young University, this site provides links to Western European (mainly primary) historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. Although some of the documents are in its original language, much of the material has bene translated. The documents are searchable by country.

The purpose of this website is to provide an overview of the First World War

This site focuses on online texts, which, for the most part, means public domain texts translated more than 75 years ago. The Ancient History Sourcebook also includes links to visual and aural material.

The Labyrinth provides free, organized access to electronic resources in medieval studies through a World Wide Web server at Georgetown University.

LIBERTY, EQUALITY, FRATERNITY: EXPLORING THE FRENCH REVOLUTION provides an accessible and lively introduction to the French Revolution as well as an extraordinary archive of some of the most important documentary evidence from the Revolution, including 338 texts, 245 images, and a number of maps and songs.

This is an online history exhibit sponsored by the US Holocaust Museum documenting the experiences of six Holocaust survivors who ultimately immigrated to the US.

From Cornell University Libraries, this page includes links to information on Christianity, the Crusades, Judaism, the Islamic Empire, and more.

A general internet resource for Medieval Studies, and a good starting point for anyone seeking information on Medieval history, literature and society.

This is a guide to resources available on the WWW for those interested in Middle East culture and history. PRODUCED BY: Hsiao-pei Yen, Department of History, SUNY-Albany.

This site includes primary history sources, classified by historical period.

Matrix is a scholarly resource for the study of women's religious communities from 400 to 1600 CE.

The National Archives is the UK government's official archive, containing 900 years of history with records ranging from parchment and paper scrolls to digital files and archived websites. The National Archives makes open records available to all

The Perseus Project is an evolving digital library of resources for the study of the humanities. Collaborators initially formed the project to construct a large, heterogeneous collection of material on the Archaic and Classical Greek world.

From Bucknell University, one of the more comprehensive Russian sites on the web.

The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database has
information on more than 35,000 slave voyages that forcibly embarked over 12 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries. It offers researchers, students and the general public a chance to rediscover the reality of one of the largest forced movements of peoples in world history.

World History Matters is a portal to world history on the web.

This site, maintained jointly by the Department of History of the University of Kansas and the Lehrstuhl f_r Zlteredeutsche Literaturwissenschaft der Universit"t Regensburg, offers more than 1,700 connections to historical websites arranged alphabetically by subject. Subjects include specific countries, regions and time periods.