Skip to Main Content
Research Guides Databases A-Z Library Catalog Ask a Librarian Library Home Page SUNY New Paltz

Who's Citing Me? Searching for Cited References

This guide is designed to gather all the tools and resources available to New Paltz faculty when searching for cited references or citation counts for their publications. Useful when preparing for promotion and tenure.

ProQuest Databases at New Paltz

ProQuest allows you to search simultaneously in all of its databases to which STL subscribes.  The list is below:

ABI/Inform Complete (Business)
ProQuest Education Journals
ProQuest Health Management
ProQuest Psychology Journals
ProQuest Research Library (Multi-disciplinary)
ProQuest Social Science Journals

Cited Reference Search in ProQuest databases

First, select a ProQuest database to search.  When you get to the search page, click on the drop-down menu at the top left to select all the databases you want to search in.  It may be a good idea to select all of them.

The results list in ProQuest databases will indicate how many times other have cited the article within this database.  

If you want to perform a citation search for a particular author within the ProQuest databases, the only way to do it is to search a complete listing of the author's articles and then check each result to see if contains a Cited by link.

1.  Select Advanced Search. Go to the pull-down menu and choose Author - AU.  This will make the Look Up Authors link appear.  Click the Link.  

Type in the author's last name followed by the first initial and then click Find.This will bring up a list of the authors the database will retrieve fitting that search string. 

Scroll through the list and select all the different variations that you want to include in the search.  Click Add to Search when you are finished. This will take you back to the Advanced Search screen, but now your search terms will be filled in for you.  Click Search. When you get your results list, scroll through to find any articles that have the Cited by link.