Skip to Main Content
Research Guides Databases A-Z Library Catalog Ask a Librarian Library Home Page SUNY New Paltz

Who's Citing Me? Searching for Cited References

This guide is designed to gather all the tools and resources available to New Paltz faculty when searching for cited references or citation counts for their publications. Useful when preparing for promotion and tenure.

Select EBSCO Databases

Some EBSCO databases have the cited reference search feature.  However, you cannot run a cited reference search across multiple EBSCO databases simultaneously.  Keep in mind the search only locates records within the same database.  Each database varies on what it includes.

Below is a current list of EBSCO databases that are available through our library and offer cited reference search:

Comprehensive/Multi-disciplinary Database
Academic Search Complete

Humanities Databases
America: History & Life
Art & Architecture Complete
Historical Abstracts
Humanities International Complete

Social Science Databases
Business Source Complete
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Education Research Complete
LGBT Life with Full Text
Library, Information Science & Technology  Abstracts
Political Science Complete
PsycARTICLES
PsycINFO
SocINDEX 

Science Databases
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
Environment Complete
GreenFILE

Cited Reference Search in EBSCO

There are two ways to search for cited references in EBSCO databases. 

Search example: Dr. Julie Bowker (http://psychology.buffalo.edu/about-us/faculty/bowker/)
searching the APA PsycINFO database.

Method 1: If you want to find cited references for a particular article, locate the article through a regular search.

If the article has been cited in this database, it will be noted in the record:

 

Method 2: If you are interested in finding all the citations for an author, select Cited References from the Menu at the top of the page.

 

(If the EBSCO database does not support the cited reference search, the option will not appear.  Not all of the EBSCO databases support cited reference searching.)

Enter the name of the author: last name, first initial.  Try putting quotation marks around the last name and first initial if you get too many results, and add any other criteria to narrow such as year, journal, etc. You could also search for their last name and first initial, followed by an asterisk to account for any work they may have published with their middle initial.  

On the results screen, you will get a list of all the publications by that author that are indexed in this particular database, along with the number of times each publication has been cited in the database.

Put a check mark next to any articles you want to look for citations to, then click Find citing articles.  This will bring a list of all the citing articles indexed in the database. Unfortunately, you can't set up an alert for this kind of search, so you'll need to run it every time you want to check for new citations.