Library Guides & Databases
| Research Guides | Databases A-Z | Library Catalog | Ask a Librarian | Library Home Page | SUNY New Paltz |
|
|
|||||
Before you search in a database, you need to think about your search strategy. There’s so much information out there that sometimes it can be overwhelming and difficult to find something relevant. Library’s work differently than Google. You cannot type full sentences into a Library database like you can with Google because Library's categorize information by subjects and keywords.
Here are some search strategies that can make finding information a little bit easier.
Brainstorm keywords and subject terms before you go into a database. Keywords and subject terms are used to categorize information within a database. Sometimes the words that we use to describe something is not what the database uses. Think about all the different ways to say the same thing. For example - culture, customs, lifestyles, traditions, habits, values, heritage.
I recommend starting broad when you first search and then be more specific once you see what results you get. The more complex your search is (multiple keywords and using advanced search strategies) the fewer results you will get. Try “Victorian Literature” in the catalog before moving to “Literature and society -- Great Britain -- History -- 19th century.”
Databases contain resources from specific publications. You will likely need to search in multiple databases to cover all your bases. Below are links to all the English databases but you may also need to search in History. If searching in an EBSCO database (like the MLA International Bibliography database), you can search multiple EBSCO databases at one time! Click the “Choose Databases” hyperlink above the search bars to add additional databases. You can read database descriptions by hovering over the conversation bubble/note looking icon next to the database titles.
If you locate a source that you find useful, check the keywords and subject terms listed on the description page within the database or catalog. Keywords and subject terms are used to categorize that source and you can incorporate them into your searching to find similar items.
If you see a “find full text” or “find it at New Paltz” button while searching for resources, click it! We have tons of databases and you are searching in only one of them. That button automatically searches the other databases to see if it is somewhere else.
Keywords are the main ideas of your question or topic. You probably already use keyword searching in your own life. For instance, if you want to know what movies are playing in theaters around you, your Google search might include your location (ex. New Paltz) and movie theater. The words you used to search are keywords!
Once you've developed a research question or topic, you'll want to identify the keywords. It might be helpful to circle or underline your keywords.
Concept mapping can help you identify keywords and synonyms you can use to find information on a specific topic. It can help you identify what you already know and what you need to learn about a topic. Check out this helpful advanced keyword searching video from The University of North Carolina Wilmington and try concept mapping below!
Since Library databases categorize information differently than Google, we have to use keywords to find relevant information.
Library databases use three words (Boolean Operators) to help you find relevant information: AND, OR, NOT. These three words are usually capitalized so that the database can recognize them.