Library Guides & Databases
| Research Guides | Databases A-Z | Library Catalog | Ask a Librarian | Library Home Page | SUNY New Paltz |
|
|
|||||
Contains full-text education journals, and encompasses an international array of English-language periodicals, monographs, yearbooks and more. Covers all levels of education—from early childhood to higher education—as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC, the Education Resources Information Center accessible here through the EBSCO interface provides access to the ERIC database which includes citations from Resources in Education (RIE) and the Current Index to Journals in Education CIJE). Also provides full text access to educational digests and links to more than 224,000 full text ERIC documents (ED numbers).
includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
full-text journals in education and related fields.
All Ebsco databases have a "choose database" function that allows you to search multiple Ebsco databases simultaneously.
1. Click on the "Choose Databases" link
2. Select all the databases you'd like to search. Your best bets are Education Source, ERIC, and Educational Administration Abstracts.
3. Click on OK
When working in databases it's important to save permalinks generated by the database rather than a session URL. This option is not always available, but is often available and will look something like this...
1. In search results
2. In full text view
Google Scholar is a GREAT resource made even BETTER when paired up with the Sojourner Truth Library. Just follow these steps to make the connection...
1. Click on the main menu and select settings
2. Click on library links, type in SUNY New Paltz, select SUNY New Paltz and Worldcat, and SAVE
Click on the link above and enter your campus NPCUID . If you have signed up for an account your personalized landing page will open. If you don't have an account take a few minutes to set one up. You can use N/A in the campus address box.
This article provides great strategies for reading scientific articles that can be applied to any empirical research.
"Most journals use a conventional IMRD structure: An abstract followed by Introduction, Methods, Results, and Discussion. Each of these sections normally contains easily recognized conventional features, and if you read with an anticipation of these features, you will read an article more quickly and comprehend more."
https://www.owlnet.rice.edu/~cainproj/courses/HowToReadSciArticle.pdf
