LibGuides: MUS110-01 Introduction to Music Studies (Reader): Finding Articles in Music

What is an article database?

Library article databases are indexes that allow users to search for articles from various publications and/or periodicals (journals, newspapers, or magazines).

The description of an article found in a database commonly consists of 3 main parts:

Citation - gives the publication information for the article or book chapter including author, title, periodical name, issue, date, and pages numbers.
Abstract - A brief summary of an article or book.
Full-text – when available, the complete copy of the article.

Use our Database Searching Guide to learn how to select a library database for your research topic and how to use the databases to find sources on your topic.

Check out all the Music databases!

Browse Music journals!

What are the best databases for finding articles about Music?

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
An online library of 180,000+ ebooks in a variety of subjects from academic, professional and trade publishers. Most of the e-books in Ebook Central are leased and may be removed from our subscription at the individual publisher's discretion. Future access to these ebooks is not guaranteed.
ACLS Humanities E-book Project This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of over 5,000 academic electronic books, covering many aspects of history and the humanities. These are works of major importance, from 250 publishers, that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and sciences, starting with the first issues.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text of several music reference works, most importantly Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. It also provides contextual to links to images, sound, and other related web sites. Access limited to 8 simultaneous users.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Provides full text—plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing—for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities. Including feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more,

Library Guides & Databases
Research Guides	Databases A-Z	Library Catalog	Ask a Librarian	Library Home Page	SUNY New Paltz