Skip to Main Content
Research Guides Databases A-Z Library Catalog Ask a Librarian Library Home Page SUNY New Paltz

MUS110-01 Introduction to Music Studies (Reader)

This guide provides introductory music studies resources and information to assist with MUS110 assignments.

Getting to Know Your Topic Better

Once you have selected your research question/argument, it's time to get to know your topic better!

Consider finding background information on your topic. Background information, like encyclopedias, dictionaries, bibliographies, biographies, and almanacs can give you context and additional sources on your topic. 

Physical Reference Resources

Most physical reference materials will be available for curbside pickup. 

 

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

  • The Encyclopedia of Popular Music [Ref ML102.P66 G84 1998] 8 vols.
  • The Encyclopedia of Rock Stars [Ref ML102.R6 R44 1996]
  • The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music.10 vols. [Ref ML100.G16]
  • The New Grove Dictionary of American Music [Ref ML101.U6 N48 1986] 4 v.
  • The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz [Ref ML 102.J3 N48 1988] 2 v.
  • The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. [Ref ML100.N48] 2001.
  • The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments [Ref ML102.I5 N48 1993]
  • The Guinness Encyclopedia of Popular Music [Ref ML102.P66 G84]
  • Tin Pan Alley:An Encyclopedia.... REF ML102 P66 J37 2003
  • Library of Congress Performing Arts Encyclopedia


Biographical Information

  • Baker's biographical dictionary of musicians. [ REF ML105.B16 1992 ]
  • Baker's Biographical Dictionary of 20th Century Classical Musicians [Ref ML105.S612 1997]
  • The Cambridge dictionary of American biography. [ REF CT213.C36 1995 ]
  • Current biography yearbook. [ REF CT100.C8 ]
  • Research guide to European historical biography. [REF CT759.R47 1992]
  • Research guide to American historical biography. [ REF CT214.R47 1988]
  • St. James guide to biography. [ REF CT101.S8 1991 ]
  • Women and Music In America Since 1900. 2 vols. [REF ML82.W625 2002]


Guides &Handbooks

  • American Musical Traditions.5 vols. REF ML3551.A53 2002
  • The New Oxford Companion to Music [Ref ML100.S37 1983] 2 v.
  • Operas in English:A Dictionary. REF ML102.O6 G74 1999
  • The Oxford Companion to Popular Music [Ref ML102.P66 G35 1991]
  • The Virtual Musician: a complete guide....[Ref ML74.7.H55 1996]
  • The Viking Opera Guide [Ref ML 102.O6 V55 1993]
  • NEA Jazz Masters Program (press releases, recommended recordings)


Bibliographies and Research Guides

  • Choral Music:A Research and Information Guide. REF ML128.C48 S53 2002
  • Music Reference and Research Materials: an annotated bibliography 5th ed.
  • [Ref ML113.D83 1997]


Interdisciplinary tools

  • International Encyclopedia of Dance. REF GV1585.I586 1998 [6 v.]
  • Guide to United States Popular Culture. REF E169.1 D3999 2001
  • St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture [5 v.] REF E169.1 S764 2000
Subjects: Music
Tags: music