Library Guides & Databases
| Research Guides | Databases A-Z | Library Catalog | Ask a Librarian | Library Home Page | SUNY New Paltz |
|
|
|||||
Search full-text articles from the 34-volume Grove Dictionary of Art to find information about individual artists, art movements, and techniques. Access limited to eight simultaneous users.
Full-text entries from encyclopedias and reference works for multidisciplinary and subject-specific research in areas such as social sciences, education, business, psychology, art, history, etc.
Enter an artist's name in quotes -- "Adrian Piper" -- to find books or exhibition catalogs that include their work. You can also try searching for an artist's name using the "words in subject" option to find books in which they are the main event.
National Museum of Women in the Arts - Link to their online resources, which include a bibliography of online website about women artists, and their database of women artists on the web, which includes websites by women artists and women artist organizations.
Getty Union List of Artist Names - Includes basic biographical information about artists such as birth / death dates, place of birth / residence.
New York Art Resources Consortium - includes a library catalog that allows you to select from freely available online resources (do a search and then look for the "Digital Collections" links on the right side of the results page).
Google Search Strategies
One way to narrow Google search results when you're trying to locate credible information about a contemporary artist's is to limit your search to ".org" addresses (you can also limit to .com, .gov, etc.) Your search will look like this:
"Adrian Piper" site:.org
offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting and full-text coverage of academic journals, magazines, and trade publications, as well as books. The database also provides an Image Collection of over 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others.