Skip to main content
Research Guides Databases A-Z Library Catalog Ask a Librarian Library Home Page SUNY New Paltz

ARS500 Graduate Art Seminar (M. Friday)

Interdisciplinary Database Research at STL

Experiment with different subject area databases, combining keywords and phrases into your searches. Remember, that research is an iterative process and that you will need to run many searches, pulling new ideas from texts and bibliographies along the way. For more research strategies and relevant websites, check out the subject guides for topical areas that apply to your work:

Looking for articles about / interviews with artists? Below are selected databases that may be useful for researching art and artists:

Try Search our Library for Lesser Known Artists / Topics

Where is the Article?

Use the databases shown here to find references to articles about your topic.

To get to the full-text of the article, click on the  button next to the reference. 

No  button? Some databases, instead, show their own links to the html or pdf versions.

If there are no links (and no ), then copy down the bibliographic information (author, journal title, year, volume, pages) and search our journals to see if we have a print version of the journal.

If we don't have access to an article,  you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

What is Peer-Reviewed?

Scholarly journals published by professional associations or a university press will have a panel of scholars who evaluate articles submitted for publication. In other words, these editorial panels are comprised of the author's peers.

If an article is approved for publication the panel has agreed that the article will advance the thinking within the discipline. Thus, articles accepted for publication would then be considered peer reviewed.

Peer-Reviewed Scholarly Journals (James Madison University)