Introduction to 19th Century Architecture

Subject Encyclopedias are more specialized than general encyclopedias. Coverage is limited to a specific subject or field of study and contain more developed articles written by scholars and experts within the field.

Gale Virtual Reference Library, the Sage Reference Online, the EBSCO eBook Collection allow you to search for topics across the entire collection of encyclopedias within each database.

The following reference books are located on the main floor of the library.  You may bring a reference book article to the Information Desk to request that it be photocopied for free.  The book must be a reference book.  There is a limit of 20 pages per reference book for free photocopying.

Free photocopies of reference sources are available to SUNY New Paltz students & faculty when the Information Desk is staffed.  Books must contain "Ref" in the call number, such as Ernest Hemingway A to Z : the Essential Reference to the Life and Work [Ref  PS3515.E37 Z7484 1999 ]

Copies are to be used only for study and research.

Copyright law is observed.  During busy times, the patron may be asked to pick up copies at a later time.  Not more than 20 pages of the Reference Book may be copied.  Please fill out the Free Reference Copy Request form at the Information Desk.

Reference Universe is a unique database that allows you to search the back-of-the-book indexes and article titles in thousands of encyclopedias and other reference material, both print and electronic, that can be found in the Sojourner Truth Library Reference Collection.

To quick search Reference Universe:

1. Enter your topic (e.g., immigration) into the search box.
2. Select an item from the results that appears to offer a useful overview or summary related to the topic.
3. Note the reference source's title, call number, and the page number for the reference article.
4. Go to the Reference Collection in the library and find your item (by call number) and article (by page)
5. Evaluate the usefulness of the item to your research needs.

Click here to do more controlled searches of Reference Universe.