Library Guides & Databases
| Research Guides | Databases A-Z | Library Catalog | Ask a Librarian | Library Home Page | SUNY New Paltz |
|
|
|||||
Our print collection contains thousands of books about education, from the theoretical to the practical. Literacy, reading and writing are a signature part of the collection.
Click here to search our catalog
EBRARY contains tens of thousands of books that are searchable, and readable, from cover to cover. You can even highlight, annotate, download and print sections of the ebooks.
Click here to access Ebook Central (Formerly Ebrary)
in Ebook Central (Formerly Ebrary), you might try (paste these into the search box)
Adolescent "reluctant readers"
Morphemic awareness
children early education phonics
What kinds of books do we have on....
Children's Comprehension Problems in Oral and Written Language by To get to the full-text of the article, click on the 
button next to the reference.
No button? Some databases, instead, show their own links to the html or pdf versions.
If there are no links (and no ), then copy down the bibliographic information (author, journal title, year, volume, pages) and search our journals to see if we have a print version of the journal.
If we don't have access to an article, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.
From Research Question to Searching
How do I go from my research question to identifying relevant related research?
1. Brainstorm keywords and phrases. Use your textbook. Ask librarian and your professor.
2. Type in one word or phrase at a time. If you find relevant stuff, add another term.
3. Be flexible! Don’t assume there’s only one term for what you’re looking for.
How can I be more efficient in my literature search?
1. Plan. Search. Assess. Repeat.
2. Keep a research journal. “I typed….. into ….database, and found…. “
3. Use several databases. ERIC, Education Research Complete, PsycInfo, even Google Scholar
4. Use limits strategically. Date and Peer-reviewed limits are really good.
5. PAUSE occasionally. Ask yourself “How do the articles I just found fit together?”
Searching databases and finding articles
What are the best databases to use when looking for educational research?
· ERIC, Education Source, PsycInfo, Ebook Central (Formerly Ebrary). Others can be found on our website. Click Databases…By Subject (Education)
What do I type into the search bar? (When do I use quotation marks?)
How can I limit my results when searching for articles?
Most databases have limiting features, including peer-review, date, and language
Is there a way to identify (with search tools) articles that are research only and not those that are other kinds of literature (e.g., summaries, teacher practice descriptions, etc.)?
How do I find reliable studies in the databases that are not from another country?
It’s not online!!!
Why are really good articles listed in the database, but I can't access them as a SUNY New Paltz student?
How do I access journals that come up in search findings, but can't be read? Can they be accessed other ways that I don't yet know about?
· Some articles are embargoed. This means that selected articles are not available in the database while others are.
· Sometimes we have a paper subscription, or the article isn’t in the database you’re searching but is in another one.
Solutions:
FIND IT AT NEW PALTZ.
How long does inter-library loan take and how does it work? I heard that it works with digital files too, is that true?
It depends. Some articles arrive every quickly. Books and media take longer.
Our ILL system is called ILLIAD. It is connected directly to many of our databases to make the request process as smooth as possible.
What is the effect of employing a graphic organizer on a seventh grader's ability to identify the main idea in an informational text?
What words describe "7th grade"? Middle school? Junior high schools? Grade 7?
Which describe "main idea"? Inferences? Reading Comprehension? Critical thinking?
Which describe "informational text"? Nonfiction?
TIP: Use the EDUCATIONAL LEVEL limit in ERIC to choose grade 7, or Junior High Schools, OR Middle schools
Your search might look like this
What is the effect of using a mentor text approach on a high-schooler's ability to write argumentative pieces with increased use of voice?
Mentor Text
High School
Argumentative essay? Argumentative writing? Persuasive writing? Argumentation? Or is it just Writing?
Use of Voice?
High School? Secondary school? Secondary Education?
TIP 1: Use the ERIC Thesaurus to uncover whether the term you intend to use is the best one
TIP 2: To limit to Research articles, use the limit box ("More Options" box) and select Reports -- Research from the PublicationType box
What is the effect of word-sort activities on a fifth-grader's ability to explain morphologically-related words?
5th grade? Grade 5? Elementary School?
Morphology? Morphenes? Word recognition?
Word-sort activities?
Tip: In this case, we "OR"d the morphology terms, then applied all the limits in the box shown below.
We now have a reasonable number of results and can then look for articles that employ word sorting strategies (or we can add that to the search.)
