LibGuides: Finding Statistics and Data: Economics/Business: Demographics

Demographics

Demographics are the physical characteristics of a population such as age, sex, marital status, family size, education, geographic location, and location.

Demographic information is available from many sources including government agencies and private commercial sources.

American Time Use Survey (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)
The American Time Use Survey (ATUS) measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing.
Child Welfare
These resources provide State and national statistics on child and family well-being indicators, such as health, child care, education, income, and marriage.
Consumer Expenditure Survey
Statistics on the expenditures and income of U.S. consumers. From the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Disability Statistics
Major statistical data sources on disability
General Social Survey
A standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest, that has tracked the opinions of Americans over the last four decades.
Human Development Report (UNDP)
Data related to development: literacy, health, poverty, income inequality, climate change, crime, population, and more.
IPUMS: Integrated Public Use Microdata Series
Current and historical worldwide population data. From the Minnesota Population Center Date Project.
Population Reference Bureau Data Finder
Global demographics by country, as well as education, income, health, housing, and labor data.
QuickFacts
QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
UN Demographic Yearbook
Worldwide demographic information from the United Nations. Also available in print in the Reference Collection: Ref HA17.D45
US Census Bureau
Entry point for all the data compiled by the Census Bureau, including links to American FactFinder (both new 2011 version and legacy version). Contains 2010 Census data.
World Bank Data
Wide variety of time series data sets on financial, economic, and population topics (worldwide coverage).
World Development Report
Provides a yearly overview of the economic, social, and environmental state of the world. Also provides detailed economic data for most countries, quality of life indicators, and other demographic and environmental information.

Library Guides & Databases
Research Guides	Databases A-Z	Library Catalog	Ask a Librarian	Library Home Page	SUNY New Paltz