Library Guides & Databases
| Research Guides | Databases A-Z | Library Catalog | Ask a Librarian | Library Home Page | SUNY New Paltz |
|
|
|||||
Library article databases are indexes that allow users to search for articles from various publications and/or periodicals (journals, newspapers, or magazines).
The description of an article found in a database commonly consists of 3 main parts:
The American Psychological Association's PsycINFO database, with over 2,000,000 records, is the most comprehensive international database of psychology. It covers the academic research and practice literature in psychology from over 45 countries in more than 25 languages.
Full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychology Association.
a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
full-text coverage from top psychology and related publications
The authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
Information about and reviews of standardized tests covering education, psychology, personality, and more. Access limited to 4 simultaneous users
Provides full-text access to over 1,500 scholarly journals from Springer Publishing. The collection is strong in mathematics and the physical and life sciences. It also includes important titles in psychology, sociology, business and economics.
Contains journal, magazine, and newspaper articles covering all subject areas.
Health and nursing periodicals, mostly academic.
Contains full-text education journals, and encompasses an international array of English-language periodicals, monographs, yearbooks and more. Covers all levels of education—from early childhood to higher education—as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC, the Education Resources Information Center accessible here through the EBSCO interface provides access to the ERIC database which includes citations from Resources in Education (RIE) and the Current Index to Journals in Education CIJE). Also provides full text access to educational digests and links to more than 224,000 full text ERIC documents (ED numbers).
This resource provides access to 12 complete, full-text ProQuest databases in major subject areas such as Science, Technology, Business, Health, Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences and Education, as well as US national and regional newspapers
full-text journals in education and related fields.
Journals in sociology and social work, plus coverage of anthropology, criminal justice, gender studies, and more. Also indexes books and conference papers.
Use the databases shown here to find references to articles about your topic.
To get to the full-text of the article, click on the 
button next to the reference.
No button? Some databases, instead, show their own links to the html or pdf versions.
If there are no links (and no ), then copy down the bibliographic information (author, journal title, year, volume, pages) and search our journals to see if we have a print version of the journal.
If we don't have access to an article, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.
Scholarly journals published by professional associations or a university press will have a panel of scholars who evaluate articles submitted for publication. In other words, these editorial panels are comprised of the author's peers.
If an article is approved for publication the panel has agreed that the article will advance the thinking within the discipline. Thus, articles accepted for publication would then be considered peer reviewed.