Skip to Main Content
Research Guides Databases A-Z Library Catalog Ask a Librarian Library Home Page SUNY New Paltz

Counseling

PsycINFO

Image result for psycinfoBy far the best database for finding articles and book chapters in the field of psychology is PsycINFO. This is a very powerful database that provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the field of behavioral sciences and mental health. It contains nearly 3 million references to peer-reviewed literature from the early 1800s to the present.

It has many search options provided for focusing on the precise nature of the information you are looking for. You can define by publication type, age group, population group, document type, methodology, and now tests and measures, to name a few.

Additionally, there is a Thesaurus to help you find the most specific and descriptive subject terms to use

Because this is not a full text database, use the Find It@New Paltz  button to search for the resource in our catalog, ejournals, and other databases.

Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms (available in PsycINFO)

Quick Reference Guide to Searching PsycInfo

PsycINFO Quick Reference Guide

The Quick Reference Guide provides brief reminders and how-tos for searching PsycINFO.

Using Search Options to Limit Results

Philosopher

 

 

 

 

 

 

Use the Search Options on the Advanced Search page of PsycINFO to limit results to specific characteristics, including:

  • Record Type: Narrow results to books, book chapters and other publication types
  • Methodology: Limit results to a specific study method
  • Age group: Limit results to a study population age group
  • Population: Limit results to a specific study population

PsycINFO Tips

PsycINFO indexes book chapters as well as journal articles. Here are two ways to tell if a cited source is in a book or an article:

  • Under Search Options use Record Type in the Advanced Search feature to limit search results to just books, chapter (chapters of books) or journal articles.
  • Read the Citation: Citations for each type of source are subtly different. Learn to recognize what the source is by the differences in the citation.
    • Book chapter citations will start with the chapter info first, then the word IN, then the book editor and title. Books will not list any volume or issue information.
      • Author(s). (publication year). Chapter Title. In Editors(s). Book Title. (pages). Publication Info.
    • Journal Articles will include volume and issue information.
      • Author(s). (publication year). Article Title.  Journal Title. Volume (issue). Pages.
Subjects: Psychology