Skip to Main Content
Research Guides Databases A-Z Library Catalog Ask a Librarian Library Home Page SUNY New Paltz

Engineering

This guide provides resources and information to assist with Engineering research.

Finding Engineering Articles

Use an Engineering library database to find scholarly/academic articles, popular magazine articles, and trade journal articles. Most databases have filters that allow you to specify what type of article you are looking for. Filters will be around the perimeter of the screen within a database. 

Accessing Articles

Finding articles using Search Our Library

  1. Start on the Library homepage or select the "library" tab within my.newpaltz.edu
  2. Select the "Search Our Library" tab on the homepage which searches most of our databases, videos and physical/electronic books. Search for an article by title, author, keyword, or subject. Hit the orange magnifying glass on the right hand side to search. 
  3. Once on the search page, use the refiners on the left hand side to select "Full text Available Online" in Availability and select "Articles" in Resource Type. Apply other filters depending on what type of source you would like to find. Hit "Apply Filters" at the bottom of the Refiners list. 
  4. The results page will now show electronic articles for your search terms. Browse the search results page and click on the title of an interested article.
  5. On the description page for the article, scroll to the "View Full Text" for databases links to the article full text.

 

Finding articles using databases

  1. Start on the Library homepage or select the "library" tab within my.newpaltz.edu
  2. Select the "Databases" tab on the homepage. View databases by subject using the left drop down menu or view databases in alphabetical order using the right drop down menu. 
  3. Once in a database, use the search bars to add your keywords and use the refiners/limiters to specify what type of information you are looking for. 
  4. Browse the results page and click on the titles of interested articles to see the article's abstract.
  5. On the description page for the article, locate the PDF or HTML button (usually on the left or at the top). You may also notice a "Find it @ New Paltz" button for articles that don't have PDF/HTML attached. Click the "Find it @ New Paltz" button to see if the article is in one of our other databases. We have about 140 databases so it might be in a different database than you are searching. 

Need more help searching databases? See our Database Searching guide for more information about selecting a database, search strategies and step-by-step database searching instructions.

Databases

Search Google Scholar and link to the Library

Open Access

Find thousands of open access documents in these open access journal collections and repositories that will be accessible to you after you leave SUNY New Paltz.

Interlibrary Loan

If we do not have access to the article you are looking for through our databases, you can submit an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request. ILL works with libraries across the world to get you access to materials we do not have. An article would be a PDF scan.