LibGuides: ARH348 History of Film (Eric Feldman) MV: Find Books

Catalog Search Strategies

Library Catalog search
The Search our Library tab of the Library homepage allows you to search just our library catalog (mostly books and media, not articles) by entering your search terms and selecting Sojourner Truth Library Catalog.

Search WorldCat for books at STL and beyond

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books, media, computer programs, musical scores, Web resources, and other materials in libraries worldwide.

Find Ebooks

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
An online library of over 200,000 ebooks in various subjects from academic, professional, and trade publishers. Most e-books in Ebook Central are leased and may be removed from our subscription at the individual publisher's discretion. Future access to these ebooks is not guaranteed.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Electronic versions of books.
ACLS Humanities E-book Project This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of over 5,000 academic electronic books, covering many aspects of history and the humanities. These are works of major importance, from 250 publishers, that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature.
DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
Academic, peer-reviewed, open access books covering a wide variety of subjects.
Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
over 60,000 free full text e-books

Internet Archive
Search historical and contemporary books, films and more archived on the Internet archive

Try Hoopla or Libby with a NYPL Library Card

As a student in New York State, you can register online for a New York Public Library cards here:

Get a NYPL Card
If you are 13 or older and live, work, attend school, or pay property taxes in New York State, you can get a free digital library card right now using this online form. Visitors to New York State can also use this form to apply for a temporary card. With a digital library card you get free access to the Library’s wide array of digital resources—including e-books, databases, educational resources, and more.

The following sites / apps allow you to link your public library card and manage ebook and audio book loans:

Hoopla
Borrow and enjoy audiobooks, eBooks, comics, movies, TV, magazines, or music everywhere you have a screen-your computer, your phone, your car, even your TV. All you need is a library card. Hoopla is free.
Libby
Borrow ebooks, audiobooks, magazines, and more from your local library for free! Libby is the newer library reading app by OverDrive.

How do I find my book on the shelf?

The Sojourner Truth Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System for the call numbers it assigns to most of the items in its collections, including Reference, in-depth books (Stacks), and Media. Because books are classified by subject, you can often find several helpful books on the same shelf, or nearby.

This video created by the Douglas College Library offers some helpful tips for reading a Library of Congress Call number to locate an item

Library Guides & Databases
Research Guides	Databases A-Z	Library Catalog	Ask a Librarian	Library Home Page	SUNY New Paltz