LibGuides: English: Find Books

Call Numbers

The Sojourner Truth Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System for the call numbers it assigns to most of the items in its collections.

Language and Literature has it's own heading in the Library of Congress Classification System. Majority of the print books you will be looking for will be located in the "P" section.

Full Library of Congress Classification Schedules
Here are all the subjects and discipline areas in the LCC - click on the high level categories to see the subcategories.

P-Language and Literature

Accessing E-Books

Finding E-books using the Catalog

Start on the Library homepage or select the "library" tab within my.newpaltz.edu.
Select the "Catalog" tab on the homepage and search for a book by title, author, keyword, subject, ISBN or call number. Hit the orange magnifying glass on the right hand side to search.
Once on the search page, use the refiners on the left hand side to select "Full text Available Online" in Availability and select "Books" in Resource Type. Hit "Apply Filters" at the bottom of the Refiners list.
The results page will now show E-books for your search terms. Browse the search results page and click on the title of an interested E-book.
On the description page for the book, scroll to the "View Full Text" for a link to the E-book.

Go directly to an e-book database

ACLS Humanities E-book Project This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of over 5,000 academic electronic books, covering many aspects of history and the humanities. These are works of major importance, from 250 publishers, that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature.
DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
Academic, peer-reviewed, open access books covering a wide variety of subjects.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
An online library of 180,000+ ebooks in a variety of subjects from academic, professional and trade publishers. Most of the e-books in Ebook Central are leased and may be removed from our subscription at the individual publisher's discretion. Future access to these ebooks is not guaranteed.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Electronic versions of books.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text entries from encyclopedias and reference works for multidisciplinary and subject-specific research in areas such as social sciences, education, business, psychology, art, history, etc.
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
The digital Loeb Classical Library contains the full texts of more than 520 volumes of Greek and Latin texts and parallel English translations. Users can search across the full corpus of texts in Greek, Latin, and English; browse the entire database by author, language, period, form, genre, or subject; and bookmark, annotate, and share content. The Loeb library represents the entire ancient Greek and Latin literary heritage, including epic and lyric poetry, tragedy and comedy, history, travel, philosophy, and oratory, as well as the ancient writers on medicine and mathematics.
Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
over 60,000 free full text e-books
Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of encyclopedias, covering the social sciences and humanities. Formerly known as Sage Reference Online.

Library Guides & Databases
Research Guides	Databases A-Z	Library Catalog	Ask a Librarian	Library Home Page	SUNY New Paltz

English

STL Catalog

Call Numbers

Accessing E-Books

Finding E-books using the Catalog

Go directly to an e-book database

Can't find a book in our library?