Skip to Main Content
Research Guides Databases A-Z Library Catalog Ask a Librarian Library Home Page SUNY New Paltz

E Resources for Online Learning

What is an article database?

Library article databases allow users to search for articles from various publications and/or periodicals (journals, newspapers, or magazines).

The description of an article found in a database commonly consists of 3 main parts: 

  • Citation - gives the publication information for the article or book chapter including author, title, periodical name, issue, date, and pages numbers.
  • Abstract - A brief summary of an article or book.
  • Full-text – when available, the complete copy of the article.

Need help finding articles? See our Database Searching guide for more information about selecting a database, search strategies and step-by-step database searching instructions.

Library Databases

Find it @ New Paltz and Interlibrary Loan

If you see a "Find it @ New Paltz" button instead of a PDF button in a database - CLICK IT! The "Find it @ New Paltz" button will search our other 140ish databases for full text access and provide you with a link. If we do not have access to the article then an Interlibrary Loan option is provided. 

  1. Click the  "Find it @ New Paltz" button on the article description page. Article detail page in a database with arrow pointing to "Find it @ New Paltz" button on the left.
  2. You will be taken to another description page for the article. Sign into your library account.Article detail page within the library catalog with arrow pointing to sign into "My Library Account" button near the bottom.
  3. Scroll down to the "Get It" section on the article page. If a database is listed, click on database hyperlink to be brought to an electronic copy of that article. If Interlibrary Loan is listed, click on the Interlibrary Loan hyperlink to request a PDF copy of the article. Article detail page within the library catalog with arrow pointing to "Get It" section with Interlibrary Loan option.
  4. Sign into your Interlibrary Loan account using your NP username and password. 
  5. Check to make sure the auto filled article information is correct then hit "Submit Request" at the bottom of the request page. Interlibrary Loan article request page auto filled with a box around "Submit Request" at bottom.
  6. You will receive an email when a PDF of the article is available for you to download.