Skip to Main Content
Research Guides Databases A-Z Library Catalog Ask a Librarian Library Home Page SUNY New Paltz

E Resources for Online Learning

This guide provides an overview of library services to support online learning.

Finding E-books in the Catalog

  • Start on the Library homepage: https://library.newpaltz.edu/
  • Select the "Catalog" tab on the homepage and search for a book by title, author, keyword, subject, ISBN or call number. Hit the orange magnifying glass on the right hand side to search. 
  • Once on the search page, use the refiners on the left hand side to select "Full text Available Online" in Availability and select "Books" in Resource Type. Hit "Apply Filters" at the bottom of the Refiners list. 

"Refine your Results" section on the left with a box around "Full Text Available Online" in Availability, a box around "Books" in Resource Type, and a box around "Apply Filters" at the bottom.

  • The results page will now show E-books for your search terms. Browse the search results page and click on the title of an interested E-book. 
  • On the description page for the book, scroll to the "View Full Text" for a link to the E-book. 

Description page for an ebook with an arrow pointing to "View Full Text" near the bottom.

E-book Collections

Ebook Central

The library subscribes to ProQuest Ebook Central, our largest collection of electronic books.

Ebook Central ebooks can be viewed in their entirety online within the browser.  In addition, users can download a book for offline reading on either their tablet or phone (iOS and Android are supported) using the Bluefire Reader for mobile devices--freely available for iOS devices in the App Store and for Android devices in Google Play.

You will need Adobe Digital Editions to download ebooks to your laptop or desktop. This free software is different from Adobe Reader.

A free Adobe ID is also required to transfer the ebook to another device. It is NOT required to read ebooks in browser.

For more details, select the Ebook Central Help Guide link listed below.  

Note: Ebook Central ebooks are available in two ways:

  1. Individual Ebook Central ebooks purchased with a perpetual license by SUNY New Paltz
     
  2.  Ebooks available through a subscription to the Ebook Central Academic Complete database. These ebooks are leased and may be removed from our subscription at the individual publisher's discretion. Future access to these ebooks is not guaranteed.

Both types will show up in a search, but may have different access (i.e. check-out time options and one user/three users/unlimited users).  ProQuest has generously given SUNY New Paltz unlimited access to all owned titles through mid-June. This means that all licenses – including single-user and three-user models – will automatically convert to unlimited access during that period, in this rapidly changing environment. 

Subjects: Reference
Tags: featured