Library Guides & Databases
| Research Guides | Databases A-Z | Library Catalog | Ask a Librarian | Library Home Page | SUNY New Paltz |
|
|
|||||
American women’s responsibility to the war effort was not limited to the home. Throughout the war, thousands of women enlisted in the armed services, and each branch recruited women in a unique way. Fashion, however, was used as an incentive to join for all branches of the military. The new streamlined style of dress made necessary by wartime rations made its way into women’s military uniforms. Uniforms designed for the Army, Navy, and Marine Corps were tailored specifically for a particular recruit’s measurements and consisted fashionable elements such as “pointed lapels” and “flap pockets.” These uniforms, regarded as “high fashion” by the NYDI, also complied with L-85 guidelines that required specific measurements for elements such as hem length and skirt width. These uniforms were promoted as an incentive for women looking to join the armed services and were also a means of increasing enthusiasm for complying with rations, and for military service itself.
Dublin Core
Title: Vera Maxwell Utility Jumpsuit
Subject: American, Military uniform, silhouette, wool
Description: Photograph of the 1942 commissioned Rosie the Riveter uniform on mannequin
Creator: Vera Maxwell (designer)
Source: The Met Collection: The Costume Institute
Publisher: The Met Collection
Date: 1942
Contributor: Gift of Vera Maxwell, 1947
Rights: Rights Statement can be found on the MET website: https://www.metmuseum.org/about-the-met/policies-and-documents/image-resources
Relation: For more detailed imagery, please see: MET Museum Costume Institute Digital Collections
Format: jpg
Language: n/a
Type: image
Identifier: MET Museum Accession Number: C.I.47.60.1
Still Image Item Type Metadata
Original Format: uniform garment
Collection: Women in Uniform
Tags: Military uniform, silhouette, wool
Citation: Vera Maxwell (designer), “Vera Maxwell Utility Jumpsuit,” Fashion as a Tool for the Cultural Memory of World War II, accessed June 4, 2024, https://spring2023.omeka.net/items/show/6.
Dublin Core
Title: "Women at Work" Utility Jumpsuit
Subject: Military uniform, silhouette, wool,
Description: This garment highlights the utilitarian style of factory uniforms
Creator: J.C. Penney Co. Inc.
Source: The Met Collection Costume Institute
Publisher: The Met Collection
Date: 1942
Contributor: Gift of Edith A. Standen, 1988
Rights: Rights Statement can be found on the MET website: https://www.metmuseum.org/about-the-met/policies-anddocuments/image-resources
Relation: MET Museum Accession Number: C.I.43.5.
Format: jpg
Language: n/a
Type: image
Identifier: MET Museum Accession Number: C.I.43.5.1
Still Image Item Type Metadata
Original Format: uniform garment
Collection: Women in Uniform
Tags: Military uniform, silhouette, wool
Citation: J.C. Penney Co. Inc., “"Women at Work" Utility Jumpsuit,” Fashion as a Tool for the Cultural Memory of World War II, accessed June 4, 2024, https://spring2023.omeka.net/items/show/5.
Dublin Core
Title: Military Uniform
Subject: Military uniform, silhouette, wool.
Description: Photograph of military uniform on mannequin. This piece highlights style elements impacted by L-85 restrictions
Creator: Saks Fifth Avenue
Source: The Met Collection: The Costume Institute
Publisher: The Met Collection
Date: 1945
Contributor: Gift of Edith A. Standen, 1988
Rights: Rights Statement can be found on the MET website: https://www.metmuseum.org/about-the-met/policies-and-documents/image-resources
Relation: For more detailed imagery, please see: MET Museum Costume Institute Digital Collections
Format: image
Language: n/a
Type: image
Identifier: MET Museum Accession Number: 1988.78.1a–o
Still Image Item Type Metadata
Original Format: uniform garment
Collection: Women in Uniform
Tags: Military uniform, silhouette, wool
Citation: Saks Fifth Avenue, “Military Uniform,” Fashion as a Tool for the Cultural Memory of World War II, accessed June 4, 2024, https://spring2023.omeka.net/items/show/4.
Dublin Core
Title: Cadet Nurse Corps outdoor military uniform
Subject: Military uniform, silhouette, wool
Description: This image highlights the silhouettes made popular for uniforms by L-85 restrictions
Creator: Sally Victor, Mollie Parnis (designers)
Source: The Met Collection: The Costume Institute
Publisher: The Met Collection
Date: 1944
Contributor: Brooklyn Museum Costume Collection at The Metropolitan Museum of Art, Gift of the Brooklyn Museum, 2009; Gift of Lucille Petry, 1946
Rights: Rights Statement can be found on the MET website: https://www.metmuseum.org/about-the-met/policies-and-documents/image-resources
Relation: For more detailed imagery, please see: MET Museum Costume Institute Digital Collections
Format: jpg
Language: n/a
Type: image
Identifier: MET Museum Accession Number: 1988.78.1a–o
Still Image Item Type Metadata
Original Format: uniform garment
Collection: Women in Uniform
Tags: Military uniform, silhouette, wool
Citation: Sally Victor, Mollie Parnis (designers), “Cadet Nurse Corps outdoor military uniform,” Fashion as a Tool for the Cultural Memory of World War II, accessed June 4, 2024, https://spring2023.omeka.net/items/show/3.
Dublin Core
Title: Image from LOOK - Job 48-G48 titled Mooseheart, Illinois
Subject: School, Military uniforms, United States--Illinois--Mooseheart
Description: Photograph is part of LOOK - Job 48-G48: Mooseheart, Illinois. Image of two people in military uniforms in a school.
Creator: Kubrick, Stanley (photographer)
Source: Look magazine photograph collection (Library of Congress)
Publisher: Library of Congress
Date: 1948
Rights: Publication may be restricted. For information, see "Stanley Kubrick for Look Magazine" https://hdl.loc.gov/loc.pnp/res.378.kubr
Format: 1 photograph : color film transparency
Language: n/a
Type: image
Still Image Item Type Metadata
Original Format: 1 photograph : color film transparency.
Collection: Women in Uniform
Tags: military uniforms
Citation: Kubrick, Stanley (photographer), “Image from LOOK - Job 48-G48 titled Mooseheart, Illinois,” Fashion as a Tool for the Cultural Memory of World War II, accessed June 4, 2024, https://spring2023.omeka.net/items/show/2.