Library Guides & Databases
| Research Guides | Databases A-Z | Library Catalog | Ask a Librarian | Library Home Page | SUNY New Paltz |
|
|
|||||
San Francisco serves as an interesting example of change in the last 100 years in terms of how it performed with combatting pandemics. During the 1918-1919 Influenza pandemic, San Francisco was in a three-front battle between the local government, the people, and the pandemic.
The local government had implemented public health mandates like mandatory mask-wearing and public sanitation with the public begrudgingly accepting the orders in the first wave of Influenza outbreak in October of 1918. Initially tensions were high, and news about the pandemic dominated local newspapers. In the San Francisco Chronicle on October 29th, 1918 the city was well under way dealing with the pandemic by implementing “on October 22 … Bill Number 5068, ‘The Mask Ordinance,’ … signed by San Francisco Mayor James Rolph.”[1] On one Saturday alone “700 people were arrested for not wearing masks.”[2] Tensions even grew between the people themselves, with one Henry Miller and James Wisser getting into a fight after “Miller found Wisser standing at the corner waving his arms and urging a crowd to dispense with the masks … Miller led him toward the drug store, insisting he purchase a mask … [Wisser] struck Miller with a sack containing silver dollars … Miller drew his revolver, and four shots rang out.”[3] Eventually, the mask mandate would be lifted on November 21st 1918, as cases had gone down since the pandemic had first struck San Francisco in October with “On November 13—just over three weeks after businesses closed and masks were donned—only six new cases were reported in San Francisco, a number interpreted by the Board of Supervisors to mean that ‘the epidemic of disease was practically over.’”[4] On the 21st of November there were celebrations across the city, even a luncheon “that marked the triumph of science and charity and affection of science and charity and affection over the influenza epidemic in San Francisco.”[5]
Eventually, “the week that ended November 23, 1918, San Francisco reported 164 new influenza cases … At the end of the first week of December, 722 new influenza cases were reported … the following week, an additional 1,517 cases were reported.”[6] The picture seems clear in hindsight that the implementation of masks helped bring down cases, and that they should’ve been reimplemented as soon as cases began to increase once the mandate was rescinded. The local health officials of San Francisco felt this way, but “it was noted that the issue of wearing masks was a matter of some debate- confusing ‘fact’ with ‘opinion.’ They acknowledged evidence that masks had prevented the spread of the epidemic … The problem … was … whether there could be enough public compliance and understanding masks correctly to be beneficial” with “The anti-mask league [as] an example of the weakest link that would break the authoritarian chain of command for a successful public health measure.”[7] With the uncertainty of the efficacy of implementing a mandate for masks to be worn by the general public again, as well as economic concerns for the city being mostly shut-down, Mayor James Rolph, even with his wife recently being stricken by Influenza,[8] “was not eager to reimpose a law on wearing face masks. It was clear that parts of the public were hotly passionate about the economic impact of the garment.”[9] Eventually with cases continuing to rise unabated, “On January 17 Mayor Rolph signed a municipal ordinance making compulsory the wearing of masks once again. The very next day, … ‘representatives of citizens’ organizations opposed to the mask wearing ordinance formed the Anti-Mask League.’”[10] In response the Anti-Mask League called for a mass meeting to protest the measure of January 25th, 1919,[11] and one meeting on January 31st showed how volatile the political emotions had gotten within the anti-mask community with session “Com[ing] to [a] sudden termination after row over chair.”[12] By this point, the second-wave of influenza was coming to an end and San Francisco had celebrated a victory too early, got hit hard by the second-wave and then implemented public mask wearing as cases were going down. A crucial moment had been missed on December 16th 1918, where a “meeting of the Board of Supervisors was primarily dedicated to discussions about reinstituting the mask ordinance … The city supervisors decided to refer the matter back … and no action was taken for the rest of the year.”[13] This meeting, if the local government had implemented a mask order, could’ve potentially mitigated the effects of the second-wave of influenza, but by capitulating to the concerns of citizens who eventually joined the Anti-Mask League, allowed the second-wave to decimate the city. As a result, San Francisco went from being exemplary on how to combat pandemics during the Influenza pandemic of 1918-1919, to having a “final tally of deaths in San Francisco [of] 30 per 1000 people, one of the worst cities hit in America.”[14]
So, what did San Francisco do for the Covid-19 Pandemic in light of their historical precedent a century ago? It seemed that they learned from the foibles of the past local government, where in the past health and government officials saw difficulties in educating the public, the 2020-2021 San Franciscan government educated the public. On September 2nd, 2020 the city began an official campaign to bring citywide awareness to the benefits of wearing a mask in preventing the spread of covid, but a “recent citywide survey demonstrated a 71 percent compliance rate of masking-wearing, demonstrating that many San Franciscans are doing their part.”[15] While the Influenza pandemic of 1918-1919 saw Francisco as a city heavily divided, the Covid-19 pandemic saw the city more unified, which resulted in a much better handling of the pandemic it was confronted with. The local government then implemented stay-at-home orders on March 17th 2020, which was very early on in the pandemic with only 472 positive cases reported across the state of California at the time.[16] Then, starting on April 17, 2020 San Francisco’s Mayor Breed implemented mask requirements for the public and essential workers in tandem with stay-at-home and physical distance orders.[17] While the Covid-19 pandemic is ongoing at the time of writing for this project, San Francisco has done an excellent job at combating this pandemic with 36,500 confirmed cases of covid and 541 deaths as of May 3rd, 2021.[18]
Overall, the story of San Francisco across both pandemics shows a city that had learned the lessons of their city a century ago. During the Influenza pandemic of 1918-1919 the city had a strong early response to the pandemic, but then lifted safety measures far too early. Then during the second-wave of Influenza, the city was not able to come to a consensus due to social stratification and political divisiveness, which allowed the disease to run unchecked through the streets of San Francisco. But through increased unity, education and implementation of public health initiatives by the city of San Francisco, their Covid-19 pandemic response has been exemplary. With both of these stories side by side, it becomes clear that by following mask-wearing, as well as other public health regulations, that a city can overcome a pandemic.
[1] Brian Dolan, “Unmasking History: Who Was Behind the Anti-Mask League Protests During the 1918 Influenza Epidemic in San Francisco?,” Perspectives in Medical Humanities 5, no. 19 (May 19, 2020), https://doi.org/10.34947/M7QP4M.
[2] Dolan, “Unmasking …” pp.5.
[3] “Three Shot In Struggle With Mask Slacker,” San Francisco Chronicle, October 29, 1918.
[4] Dolan, “Unmasking …” pp.6.
[5] “Science and Charity Triumph: Epidemic’s Fighters Praised,” San Francisco Chronicle, November 22, 1918.
[6] Dolan, “Unmasking …” pp.6-7.
[7] Dolan, “Unmasking …” pp. 10.
[8] “Mayor’s Wife Ill With Influenza Due to Exertion,” San Francisco Chronicle, December 08, 1918.
[9] Dolan, “Unmasking …” pp.10.
[10] Dolan, “Unmasking …” pp.11.
[11] “Anti-Mask League Calls Mass Meeting To Protest,” San Francisco Chronicle, January 21, 1919.
[12] “Anti-Mask League Mass Meeting Ends In Battle Royal,” The San Francisco Chronicle, February 1, 1919.
[13] Dolan, “Unmasking …” pp.8-9.
[14] Dolan, “Unmasking …” pp.20.
[15] “Mayor London Breed Announces Citywide Mask Wearing Campaign in Partnership with San Francisco’s Diverse Communities | Office of the Mayor,” accessed May 4, 2021, https://sfmayor.org/article/mayor-london-breed-announces-citywide-mask-wearing-campaign-partnership-san-franciscos.
[16] “The Bay Area’s Battle against Coronavirus,” The San Francisco Chronicle, https://projects.sfchronicle.com/2020/coronavirus-timeline/.
[17] Dolan, “Unmasking …” pp.21.
[18] “COVID-19 United States Cases by County,” Johns Hopkins Coronavirus Resource Center, accessed May 4, 2021, https://coronavirus.jhu.edu/us-map.
Dublin Core
Title: Crowds Waiting In Line
Subject: Spanish Influenza, San Francisco, 1918
Description: Crowds waiting in line for masks outside the Red Cross Headquarters
Creator: International Film Service, The San Francisco Examiner
Publisher: Newspapers.com
Date: 10-22-1918
Rights: https://www.ancestry.com/cs/legal/termsandconditions
Format: Jpg
Language: English
Type: Still Image
Coverage: San Francisco, 1918
Still Image Item Type Metadata
Original Format: Photo
Collection: Spanish Influenza Pandemic 1918-1919
Citation: International Film Service, The San Francisco Examiner, “Crowds Waiting In Line,” Comparative History: Spanish Influenza and COVID-19 in the U.S. , accessed June 5, 2024, https://ushistory1918flu2020covid.omeka.net/items/show/42.
Dublin Core
Title: Resolution Is Introduced By Anti-Mask League
Subject: Spanish Influenza, San Francisco, 1919
Description: The Anti-Mask League decided on making a proposal to repeal the mandatory wearing of masks in public, citing that the "plain people rule" and that "democracy be practiced at home"
Creator: San Francisco Chronicle
Publisher: Newspapers.com
Date: 01-28-1919
Rights: https://www.ancestry.com/cs/legal/termsandconditions
Format: Jpg
Language: English
Type: Text
Coverage: San Francisco, 1919
Text Item Type Metadata
Original Format: Newspaper
Collection: Spanish Influenza Pandemic 1918-1919
Citation: San Francisco Chronicle, “Resolution Is Introduced By Anti-Mask League,” Comparative History: Spanish Influenza and COVID-19 in the U.S. , accessed June 5, 2024, https://ushistory1918flu2020covid.omeka.net/items/show/40.
Dublin Core
Title: Mask Given Credit for Falling Off of Cases
Subject: Spanish Influenza, San Francisco, 1919
Description: The mayor of San Francisco cited the compulsory wearing of masks being the main cause of the reduction of influenza cases in the city. The article then details how a meeting of supervisors was attended by hundreds of anti-maskers who applauded all anti-mask sentiments made.
Creator: San Francisco Chronicle
Publisher: Newspapers.com
Date: 01-28-1919
Rights: https://www.ancestry.com/cs/legal/termsandconditions
Format: Jpg
Language: English
Type: Text
Coverage: San Francisco, 1919
Text Item Type Metadata
Original Format: Newspaper
Collection: Spanish Influenza Pandemic 1918-1919
Citation: San Francisco Chronicle, “Mask Given Credit for Falling Off of Cases,” Comparative History: Spanish Influenza and COVID-19 in the U.S. , accessed June 5, 2024, https://ushistory1918flu2020covid.omeka.net/items/show/39.
Dublin Core
Title: San Francisco May Lift Mask Law On Friday: Mayor Makes Announcement After Demonstration by Body Fighting Ordinance
Subject: Spanish Influenza, San Francisco, 1919
Description: This article details how the mandatory mask mandate would be lifted that Friday at the urgings of the Board of Health and the anti-mask sentiments that were proliferating through San Francisco at the time.
Creator: San Francisco Chronicle
Publisher: Newspapers.com
Date: 01-28-1919
Rights: https://www.ancestry.com/cs/legal/termsandconditions
Format: Jpg
Language: English
Type: Text
Coverage: San Francisco, 1919
Text Item Type Metadata
Original Format: Newspaper
Collection: Spanish Influenza Pandemic 1918-1919
Citation: San Francisco Chronicle, “San Francisco May Lift Mask Law On Friday: Mayor Makes Announcement After Demonstration by Body Fighting Ordinance,” Comparative History: Spanish Influenza and COVID-19 in the U.S. , accessed June 5, 2024, https://ushistory1918flu2020covid.omeka.net/items/show/38.
Dublin Core
Title: Police Score 186 Arrest On First Mask Day: Rule Will Be Made More Rigid Henceforth by Order of Police Chief
Subject: Spanish Influenza, San Francisco, 1919
Description: This article reports on 186 arrests being made for citizens not complying with the new mask mandates made in San Francisco to slow the spread of Influenza.
Creator: San Francisco Chronicle
Publisher: Newspapers.com
Date: 01-21-1919
Rights: https://www.ancestry.com/cs/legal/termsandconditions
Format: Jpg
Language: English
Type: Text
Coverage: San Francisco, 1919
Text Item Type Metadata
Original Format: Newspaper
Collection: Spanish Influenza Pandemic 1918-1919
Citation: San Francisco Chronicle, “Police Score 186 Arrest On First Mask Day: Rule Will Be Made More Rigid Henceforth by Order of Police Chief,” Comparative History: Spanish Influenza and COVID-19 in the U.S. , accessed June 5, 2024, https://ushistory1918flu2020covid.omeka.net/items/show/37.
Dublin Core
Title: Anti-Mask League Mass Meeting Ends In Battle Royal: Sessions Comes to Sudden Termination After Row Over Chair
Subject: Spanish Influenza, San Francisco, 1919
Description: This article describes an Anti-Mask League meeting where there was a lot of infighting on display within the political organization. One side wanted to "recall Dr. Hassler" and another that thought "frightening the Mayor with a petition signed by voters" was the best course of action. Ultimately the meeting was cut short due to the infighting.
Creator: San Francisco Chronicle
Publisher: Newspapers.com
Date: 02-01-1919
Rights: https://www.ancestry.com/cs/legal/termsandconditions
Format: Jpg
Language: English
Type: Text
Coverage: San Francisco, 1919
Text Item Type Metadata
Original Format: Newspaper
Collection: Spanish Influenza Pandemic 1918-1919
Citation: San Francisco Chronicle, “Anti-Mask League Mass Meeting Ends In Battle Royal: Sessions Comes to Sudden Termination After Row Over Chair,” Comparative History: Spanish Influenza and COVID-19 in the U.S. , accessed June 5, 2024, https://ushistory1918flu2020covid.omeka.net/items/show/35.
Dublin Core
Title: "Over The Top" In Peace Times
Subject: Spanish Influenza, San Francisco, 1919
Description: This picture displays two people with masks on during the Influenza Pandemic with the words "'Over The Top' In Peace Times" above it.
Creator: San Francisco Chronicle
Publisher: Newspapers.com
Date: 01-31-1919
Rights: https://www.ancestry.com/cs/legal/termsandconditions
Format: Jpg
Language: English
Coverage: San Francisco, 1919
Still Image Item Type Metadata
Original Format: Cartoon
Collection: Spanish Influenza Pandemic 1918-1919
Citation: San Francisco Chronicle, “"Over The Top" In Peace Times,” Comparative History: Spanish Influenza and COVID-19 in the U.S. , accessed June 5, 2024, https://ushistory1918flu2020covid.omeka.net/items/show/34.
Dublin Core
Title: San Francisco Again Puts On Health Masks
Subject: Spanish Influenza, San Francisco, 1919
Description: This article reports on the Mayor of San Francisco putting a compulsory mask ordinance in place and that an Anti-Mask League was formed as a response.
Creator: San Francisco Chronicle
Publisher: Newspapers.com
Date: 01-18-1919
Rights: https://www.ancestry.com/cs/legal/termsandconditions
Format: Jpg
Language: English
Type: Text
Coverage: San Francisco, 1919
Text Item Type Metadata
Original Format: Newspaper
Collection: Spanish Influenza Pandemic 1918-1919
Citation: San Francisco Chronicle, “San Francisco Again Puts On Health Masks,” Comparative History: Spanish Influenza and COVID-19 in the U.S. , accessed June 5, 2024, https://ushistory1918flu2020covid.omeka.net/items/show/33.
Dublin Core
Title: Anti-Mask League Calls Mass Meeting To Protest
Subject: Spanish Influenza, San Francisco, 1919
Description: This article details a mass meeting for citizens holding anti-mask sentiments to meet at Dreamland Rink on January 25th, 1919 to protest the mask ordinances put in place by the mayor of San Francisco.
Creator: San Francisco Chronicle
Publisher: ProQuest Historical Newspapers: San Francisco Chronicles
Date: 01-21-1919
Rights: http://search.proquest.com/docview/574655312/citation/ED1C855A3B064FBBPQ/1
Format: Jpg
Language: English
Type: Text
Coverage: San Francisco, 1919
Text Item Type Metadata
Original Format: Newspaper
Collection: Spanish Influenza Pandemic 1918-1919
Citation: San Francisco Chronicle , “Anti-Mask League Calls Mass Meeting To Protest,” Comparative History: Spanish Influenza and COVID-19 in the U.S. , accessed June 5, 2024, https://ushistory1918flu2020covid.omeka.net/items/show/29.
Dublin Core
Title: Medical experts weigh in on protestors' anti-mask claims
Subject: Covid-19 Pandemic, San Francisco, 2020
Description: This article addresses the worries and claims of individuals concerned about the necessity or efficacy of masks in preventing Covid-19 transmission.
Creator: Brian Howey
Publisher: The San Francisco Examiner
Date: 12-20-2020
Rights: https://www.ancestry.com/cs/legal/termsandconditions
Format: Jpg
Language: English
Type: Text
Coverage: San Francisco, 2020
Text Item Type Metadata
Original Format: Newspaper
Collection: Covid-19 Pandemic 2020-2021
Citation: Brian Howey, “Medical experts weigh in on protestors' anti-mask claims,” Comparative History: Spanish Influenza and COVID-19 in the U.S. , accessed June 5, 2024, https://ushistory1918flu2020covid.omeka.net/items/show/48.
Dublin Core
Title: S.F. slows reopening after COVID-19 cases rise
Subject: Covid-19 Pandemic, San Francisco, 2020
Description: This article reports on how the city government decided to slow the process of reopening the city of San Francisco after the transmission rates of Covid-19 were increasing.
Creator: Joshua Sabatini
Publisher: The San Francisco Examiner
Date: 11-01-2020
Rights: https://www.ancestry.com/cs/legal/termsandconditions
Format: Jpg
Language: English
Type: Text
Coverage: San Francisco, 2020
Text Item Type Metadata
Original Format: Newspaper
Collection: Covid-19 Pandemic 2020-2021
Citation: Joshua Sabatini, “S.F. slows reopening after COVID-19 cases rise,” Comparative History: Spanish Influenza and COVID-19 in the U.S. , accessed June 5, 2024, https://ushistory1918flu2020covid.omeka.net/items/show/47.
Dublin Core
Title: Supe calls for investigation into weekend Burning Man festivities at Ocean Beach
Subject: Covid-19 Pandemic, San Francisco, 2020
Description: This article details how two thousand people shirked physical distancing measures in the city to celebrate a Burning Man festival at Ocean Beach. Mayor Breed commented on the issue condemning the reckless behavior of the attendees.
Creator: Michael Barba
Publisher: The San Francisco Examiner
Date: 09-09-2020
Rights: https://www.ancestry.com/cs/legal/termsandconditions
Format: Jpg
Language: English
Type: Text
Coverage: San Francisco, Ocean Beach. 2020
Text Item Type Metadata
Original Format: Newspaper
Collection: Covid-19 Pandemic 2020-2021
Citation: Michael Barba, “Supe calls for investigation into weekend Burning Man festivities at Ocean Beach,” Comparative History: Spanish Influenza and COVID-19 in the U.S. , accessed June 5, 2024, https://ushistory1918flu2020covid.omeka.net/items/show/46.
Dublin Core
Title: Shelter-in-place not an option in Tenderloin
Subject: Covid-19 Pandemic, San Francisco, 2020
Description: This article discusses how sheltering in place and physical distancing was not possible for the homeless population of San Francisco. Mentions that the city was making plans to try and help get people off the streets and overcrowded homeless shelters and into shelters that they could physically distance in.
Creator: Corey Browning
Publisher: The San Francisco Examiner
Date: 03-29-2020
Rights: https://www.ancestry.com/cs/legal/termsandconditions
Format: Jpg
Language: English
Type: Text
Coverage: San Francisco, 2020
Text Item Type Metadata
Original Format: Newspaper
Collection: Covid-19 Pandemic 2020-2021
Citation: Corey Browning, “Shelter-in-place not an option in Tenderloin,” Comparative History: Spanish Influenza and COVID-19 in the U.S. , accessed June 5, 2024, https://ushistory1918flu2020covid.omeka.net/items/show/45.
Dublin Core
Title: Sheltering in place in these days of COVID-19
Subject: Covid-10 Pandemic, San Francisco, 2020
Description: In this article Sally Stephen, an elderly resident of San Francisco, talks about the anxieties of sheltering in place and the unity shown in her community (her younger neighbors offered to help her get groceries)
Creator: Sally Stephens
Publisher: The San Francisco Examiner
Date: 03-22-2020
Rights: https://www.ancestry.com/cs/legal/termsandconditions
Format: Jpg
Language: English
Type: Text
Coverage: San Francisco, 2020
Text Item Type Metadata
Original Format: Newspaper
Collection: Covid-19 Pandemic 2020-2021
Citation: Sally Stephens, “Sheltering in place in these days of COVID-19,” Comparative History: Spanish Influenza and COVID-19 in the U.S. , accessed June 5, 2024, https://ushistory1918flu2020covid.omeka.net/items/show/44.
Dublin Core
Title: Shelter-in-place may be slowing spread of COVID
Subject: Covid-19 Pandemic, San Francisco, 2020
Description: This article examines the importance of the shelter-in-place orders in slowing down the spread of Covid-19 in the city.
Creator: Ida Mojadad
Publisher: The San Francisco Examiner
Date: 12-30-2020
Rights: https://www.ancestry.com/cs/legal/termsandconditions
Format: Jpg
Language: English
Type: Text
Coverage: San Francisco, 2021
Text Item Type Metadata
Original Format: Newspaper
Collection: Covid-19 Pandemic 2020-2021
Citation: Ida Mojadad, “Shelter-in-place may be slowing spread of COVID,” Comparative History: Spanish Influenza and COVID-19 in the U.S. , accessed June 5, 2024, https://ushistory1918flu2020covid.omeka.net/items/show/43.
Dublin Core
Title: COVID-19 United States Cases by County
Subject: Covid-19 Pandemic, San Francisco, 2020-2021
Description: A graph that shows the total amount of confirmed Covid-19 cases in San Francisco (36,500 cases) from 01/22/2020 up to 05-03-2021.
Creator: John Hopkins University
Publisher: John Hopkins University
Date: 01-22-2020 to 05-03-2021
Rights: https://coronavirus.jhu.edu/about/how-to-use-our-data
Format: Png
Language: English
Type: Website
Coverage: San Francisco, 2020-2021
Website Item Type Metadata
Local URL: https://coronavirus.jhu.edu/us-map
Collection: Covid-19 Pandemic 2020-2021
Citation: John Hopkins University, “COVID-19 United States Cases by County,” Comparative History: Spanish Influenza and COVID-19 in the U.S. , accessed June 5, 2024, https://ushistory1918flu2020covid.omeka.net/items/show/49.
Dublin Core
Title: Covid-19 United States Cases by County
Subject: Covid-19 Pandemic, San Francisco, 2020-2021
Description: A graph that shows the total amount of confirmed deaths attributable to Covid-19 in San Francisco (541 deaths) from 01/22/2020 up to 05-03-2021.
Creator: John Hopkins University
Publisher: John Hopkins University
Date: 01-22-2020 to 05-03-2021
Rights: https://coronavirus.jhu.edu/about/how-to-use-our-data
Format: Png
Language: English
Type: Website
Coverage: San Francisco, 2020-2021
Website Item Type Metadata
Local URL: https://coronavirus.jhu.edu/us-map
Collection: Covid-19 Pandemic 2020-2021
Citation: John Hopkins University, “Covid-19 United States Cases by County,” Comparative History: Spanish Influenza and COVID-19 in the U.S. , accessed June 5, 2024, https://ushistory1918flu2020covid.omeka.net/items/show/50.