LibGuides: BUS 457 Entrepreneurship: Home

Business Students and Entrepreneurs

This guide provides information about library resources and free websites for researching a new business venture.

Guide Contents

Industry and Company Info Find industry and company research
Market Research Find market research, such as market size and consumer information
Business Plans Find information that will help you with writing a business plan and pitching your ideas
Marketing Find books and websites that will help you plan your marketing
Trademarks & Patents Find information about trademarks, patents, and copyright
Funding Find books and websites that will help you fund your business
Social Entrepreneurship Find resources about this topic
Ask a Librarian Have a question? There are lots of ways to ask for help!

Library Handout for BUS 457
More information about library resources and information that will help you research a new business venture

Good Starting Points

A good starting point to learn more about starting a business:

Small Business Administration (SBA)
The Small Business Administration (SBA) is a government agency that supports and promotes entrepreneurs. It provides tools for estimating startup costs & a small business
readiness assessment, information about legal requirements, financing options, business plans, steps to start your business, Small Business Development Center (SBDC) locator and resources
New York State Small Business Development Center
A new office location of the Mid-Hudson Small Business Development Center (SBDC) is open in SUNY New Paltz’s van den Berg Hall and offers counseling to small business owners.
Encyclopedia of Small Business (Online)
Addresses issues in launching and growing a new business venture including financing, financial planning, business plan creation, market analysis, sales strategy, tax planning, human resource issues, and more.

Gale Business: Entrepreneurship This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database that covers all aspects of starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax, and more. It combines authoritative periodical and reference content to support prospective and current entrepreneurs and business students. Provided by NOVELNY.

Apply for a NYPL digital card

As a SUNY New Paltz student, you have access to the Sojourner Truth Library (STL). However, public libraries are always an excellent resource too. If you live, work, or attend school in New York State, you can sign up for a New York Public Library (NYPL) card!

If you do not have an NYPL card, apply online to receive a digital library card and gain access immediately. It works for digital resources such as e-books, audiobooks, and databases, but not print. NYPL subscribes to hundreds of databases, giving you access to scholarly journals, magazines, and business data. Regardless of your field of study, chances are you'll find some databases useful.

Browse NYPL's extensive database collection.

Librarian

Colleen Lougen

Email Me

Contact:

Please contact me by email to schedule an in-person or virtual research appointment.

845-257-3729

Subjects: Business, Economics, Government Information, Mathematics

Library Guides & Databases
Research Guides	Databases A-Z	Library Catalog	Ask a Librarian	Library Home Page	SUNY New Paltz