Skip to Main Content
Research Guides Databases A-Z Library Catalog Ask a Librarian Library Home Page SUNY New Paltz

Permalinks: how to link directly to library catalog records, ebooks, articles, databases and streaming videos

Permalinks to Articles and eBooks in EBSCO Databases: scroll down for two example: example 1 for an article; example 2 for an eBooks

Example 1:  for an Article found in an Ebsco Database

  1. Conduct a search.
  2. From the results list, click on the title of an item.
  3. On the right side menu click Permalink.
  4. The Permalink will then appear at the top of the abstract.
  5. Copy the Permalink and paste it into document, Brightspace, email, etc.

  6. Check the Permalink to make sure it includes the following Proxy URL prefix before pasting it into Brightspace, a webpage, document, or an email. If it doesn't include URL Proxy prefix, copy and paste it in front of the Permalink.

Check to make sure your Permalink includes the STL Proxy URL:

https://libdatabase.newpaltz.edu/login?url=

Citation:
Martinez, C. L., Rosero, D., Thomas, T., & Soto Mas, F. (2022). Community Supported Agriculture, Human Capital, and Community Health. Health Promotion Practice, 23(3), 407–415.

Permalink with STL Proxy URL prefix:

https://libdatabase.newpaltz.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=156834850&site=ehost-live

Example 2: for an eBook from the Ebsco eBook Collection

  1. Conduct a search.
  2. From the results list, click on the title of an item.
  3. On the right side menu click Permalink.
  4. The Permalink will then appear at the top of the abstract.
  5. Copy the Permalink and paste it into document, Brightspace, email, etc.

  6. Check the Permalink to make sure it includes the following Proxy URL prefix before pasting it into Brightspace, a webpage, document, or an email. If it doesn't include URL Proxy prefix, copy and paste it in front of the Permalink.

Check to make sure your Permalink includes the STL Proxy URL:

https://libdatabase.newpaltz.edu/login?url=

Example:

Lindsay K. Campbell. (2017). City of Forests, City of Farms : Sustainability Planning for New York City’s Nature. Cornell University Press.

Permalink with STL Proxy URL prefix:

https://libdatabase.newpaltz.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=135961867&site=ehost-live

Subjects: Reference